Australian Business Forum  

Go Back   Australian Business Forum > Wholesale Business Discussion > Bad Supplier Experiences

Bad Supplier Experiences Formerly the Name & Shame section. Tell us your BAD supplier experiences in here. Warn others to protect the wholesale industry from rogue operations. Please only post threads with facts in here.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-08   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
ConnieS is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

There was one day that my husband mentioned about Free Grant. Since we're looking for a new business and i am just new here in USA, and we don't have much money to put up, so he told me try to open Free Grants cuz maybe the gov't will gonna help me.Then opened the site, there's a free book free but we have to pay the shipping and handling cost about $3.87 but they are willing to grant my needs without paying back. I registered over internet but i did not put my husband's mastercard's pin number cuz i am just afraid if this is scam. This morning we receieved a call from free grants and this woman from called from call center she asked my husband's pin number. I said i don't know.There are things i observed: the site has no contact numbers. When i called the 1-800 federal law, she said it's not listed. When i called the law agency she said, it might be a scam because they're not listed.www.unitedstatesgrants.orgpls. help me.. thanks!God Bless!I think there's no such free grants because as what i observed here, there are so many low income family and instead they will gonna help people like me, they will give it those citizens who really need it.One thing: I asked where did they get the money for free grants, she said it comes from tax payers. I don't think so.Please help me.. i need some advice.. she will call me back on saturday. Pls help me.. thanks!
ConnieS is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-04-08   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
MelissaSmith is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

do not give them any details. this is a scam. better to be safe then sorry.
MelissaSmith is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-08   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
AaronL is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

You already know its a scam. You just want it to not be so badly, that you asked this question.
AaronL is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-08   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
wubzy_wubzy_wow_wow is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

i'd say its a scam-- good thing you didn't give your credit card number..... a lot of companies will give you one thing for free, but you have to pay shipping and then at a later date charge you if you keep the item or begin sending shipments every month or so and charge you for those.
wubzy_wubzy_wow_wow is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-08   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Lisa6983 is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

ummm yeah... scammers for sure... beware!why not send them a money order for the $3.87? Then when you lose your money it won't be your whole credit card balance!
Lisa6983 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-08   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
StuT is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

Definetly sounds like a scam. Never give pin numbers to anyone, if they asking then they probably know your address, account number..anything.
StuT is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
MzLeen is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

I didn't even check the website, but based on the information you have stated here IT IS A SCAM. You were smart in identifying the red flags such as them asking for personal information (i.e. the pin #, a legit business will never do this), no contact #'s, etc. For future reference, you can always check and see if the BBB has any info on companies like these. The Govt has a lot of good resources but you need a solid business plan before you approach them. Also you can check what sort of organizations offer grants based on your business idea, but it is a good idea to have your business plan to present to them as well.You will have to do a lot of research on the internet. It will take time but it can be done.
MzLeen is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
papasteve is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

I think you have heard of the us government. They have wasted a lot of money on educational grants. Example: Why humming birds make love. The speed of which some ketchup's flow. However they had good grants also. The best is info. I believe most of the grant emails people get are scams. You may just be getting this book for 3.87, but these kind of emails use that as a hook. Because with that free book, comes with it a service where they will help you apply for some of these grants. Its a free trial offer for 10-30days, but after the free trial it usually costs $29,$39,$49, or more. The scam, in my opinion, is the company knows most people will not realize they will be accepting the service if hey do not cancel it. Or they forget about it. And it may take at least 2 months or more before people realize it. So that book you accept for 3.87 will cost $90 - $150. Technically its legal, like payday loans, but they are still preying on people. You can get that government booklet at most government offices, for free and no chance to be scammed. When you happen to drive by a courthouse stop on in and get the government publication, or send for it in the mail. Go to any library, for more info.. I am getting to the point that I won't buy anything online, or by phone. This includes buying books or DVD's, or CD's.
papasteve is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Nessy is on a distinguished road
Default i need a help! i don't know if this is a scam. www.unitedstatesgrants.org?

There is one thing you can do to verify if this company is legitimate. For the meantime, Do NOT give them any of your personal information - even your last name. If you have, tell them that you want your name taken off their mailing list.1) The first thing to do is to go to www.bbb.org This is called the Better Business Bureau. This organization is active in the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico. Members agree to abide by terms of the BBB, and consumers can use the group to help resolve complaints and issues, even with non-members. The BBB is considered a highly reputable organization, and works such as the Wise Giving Alliance are widely applauded by consumer activists.I checked out the website that you posted www.unitedstatesgrants.org and BBB does NOT have them in their database. This means that they probably do not exist.
Nessy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scam, wwwunitedstatesgrantsorg

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0